BIKE Transalp 2017 Anniversary edition unveiled

Follow our Trail:

The stage towns of the 20th BIKE Transalp powered by Sigma, the race which has influenced mountain bike marathon racing like no other over the past two decades, have been unveiled. The anniversary edition of the popular MTB stage race for teams of two will be staged from July 16 till 22, 2017, and will will lead over some 550 km and 18,000 metres of climbing from Mayrhofen, Austria across the main chain of the Alps to Riva del Garda, Italy – the tradition-rich town at the shores of Lake Garda, which will host the finish for the 17th time already.

After things have kicked off in Austria, the second time in history since 2016, the route partly follows the one of the classic’s inaugural race via Brixen, St. Vigil, St. Christina, Kaltern, Trento and Lavarone – the only new stage town this year and the 54th in history of the myth – to Riva del Garda, with St. Vigil one of two stage towns which have been part of the 1998 route.


Also part of it is the Pfitscherjoch, one of the most famous Transalp passes, which racers will tackle on the first stage which also runs through Sterzing before concluding in Brixen. Other highlights of the 2017 route design are the Plose, smooth trails in the heart of the Dolomites or parts of the well-known Sellaronda Hero track or the 100 KM DEI FORTI, a marathon race which trails old military paths dating back to World War I.

The 2017 route merits a notable anniversary as almost all stage towns have been part of the Transalp before. Already in the 20th year of Transalp racing, we were once again able to find new paths which make fun: it will be mountain biking at its best on the most exciting single tracks of the Alps.


The 2017 Transalp is a modern interpretation of crossing the Alps. What remains the same are the panorama views in the world’s most beautiful mountain range and the mix of cultures between South Tyrol and the Trentino region. I’m looking forward to putting together the best route over the course of the next week,” says Race Director Marc Schneider who is responsible for the route design for the sixth consecutive time now.

2017 stage towns

  • Stage 1 (July 16): Mayrhofen – Brixen

  • Stage 2 (July 17): Brixen – St. Vigil

  • Stage 3 (July 18): St. Vigil – St. Christina 

  • Stage 4 (July 19): St. Christina – Kaltern 

  • Stage 5 (July 20): Kaltern – Trento

  • Stage 6 (July 21): Trento – Lavarone

  • Stage 7 (July 22): Lavarone – Riva del Garda

Further information on the route and each and every stage will be published on over the course of the next weeks.

Online registration

The online registration for the 2017 BIKE Transalp powered by Sigma starts on October 11, 2016 at 12 PM CET on


Follow our Trail: