Mechukha Downhill MTB Championship 2017

Follow our Trail:

Held as a part of the Mechukha Adventure Festival 2017, the Mechukha Downhill MTB Championship 2017 is the first downhill mountain bike event organized in the quite, mountainous state of Arunachal Pradesh in north-east India.

The 2.36 km long DH course built by the AMBIA team is one of the fastest downhill courses in India. With sections sending racers over 70kmph! The course included flight boosting wooden doubles built by Shillong’s Gregory Allya Warjri along with Gautam Taode of “GT Adventures”. The seeding run saw Nepal’s Prachit Magar take the lead over India’s Downhill champion, Gautam Taode.

Nepal’s Suman Tamang clocked the 3rd fastest time in Seeding on-board his YT.
Nepal’s Prachit Thapa Magar surprised everyone with a 1st place in Seeding on his Rocky Mountain.
Ronan Bazeley sailing through in seeding.
Shillong’s Apshai Griffith Niangti is looking faster on his new full suspension rig.

Seeding Results:

1st- Prachit Thapa Magar (Nepal)
2nd- Gautam Taode (India)
3rd- Suman Tamang (Nepal)
4th – Apshai (India)
5th- Ronan Bazeley (India)


The final results were in favour of India’s Gautam Taode emerging as the winner with a time of 3:49:31. While, “Khatra” Suman Tamang, had to settle with a 4th place finish. Nepal’s Prachit Magar performed fast on his Rocky Mountain enduro rig to finish 2nd, followed by Shillong’s up and comer Apshai Niangti in a close 3rd.

Ronan Bazeley
Suman Tamang “Khatra” styling it in Finals.
Apshai Griffith Niangti from Shillong landed a 3rd spot in Finals on his new rig.
Prachit Thapa Magar from team “Gravity Nepal” secured a 2nd place in Finals narrowing out Apshai onto 3rd.
Maharashtra’s Gautam “GT” Taode from team Giant Starkenn pulled a strong one in Finals, grabbing the win at the 1st Giant Starkenn Mechuka DH MTB Championship 2017.

The track was mad fast! Pure DH all the way. Some section’s max speed felt around 70 kmph!!  Best track I’ve ridden till date, hands down. The  step down and the finish area booster was a fun build, enjoyed by all the racers.  – Gautam “GT” Taode.

Final Results:

1st – Gautam Taode |  3:49:31
2nd – Prachit Thapa Magar | 3:54:34
3rd – Apshai Griffith Niangti |  3:54:81
4th – Suman Tmg |  3:56:71
5th: Kevilebo Zhotso
6th: Ronan Bazeley
7th: Gregory Allya Warjri
8th: Jordan (DNQ)

Team “Gravity Nepal” members, Suman and Prachit chilling with new learnings from Mechukha Downhill 2017.
Chi ching! Cheques and medals for the 3 winners.
Organizers, racers and guests at the 1st Mechukha Downhill Mountain Bike Championship 2017.

Photos: Gerald Samuel Pinocchio Duia / AMBIA

Follow our Trail: